7 things to know about crystals

7 things to know about crystals - Oz Importations

Crystals have been appreciated for centuries through the world, for their beauty as well as their properties!  Here are seven things to know about crystals:

1- There are two categories of crystals.

The precious stones, and the semi-precious stones.  Though they are all very beautiful, only four crystals are part of the 'precious' category: the ruby, the emerald, the diamond and the sapphire.  All other stones are considered semi-precious.

2- Crystals need to be cleansed and recharged.

As crystals tend to absorb the energies around them, whether from a person or a room, it is important to cleanse and re-tune them before using them.  Here are a few methods for crystal cleansing:

  • Smudging: smudge your crystals by passing them into the smoke of incense or herbs such as sage, palo santo or sweetgrass.
  • Sunlight: leave your crystals in the sunlight for around and hour.  Take note that some crystals will fade in the sunlight, so you might want to use another method. This is the case for amethyst, citrine, aquamarine, fluorite, rose quartz and smoky quartz.
  • Moonlight: leave your crystals under the full moon light, from dusk until just before the sunrise.  All crystals can go in the moon light, and this method is especially interesting if you wish to work on feminine aspects, as the moon is associated to the feminine energy.
  • Salt water: soak your crystals in a bowl filled with water and sea salt, for 24 hours.
  • Natural water sources: cleanse your crystals in a lake, a river, a stream, a pond...
  • Cold tap water: let cold water run over your crystals for a few minutes.

3- Some crystals dissolve in water.

It is the case with azurite, phenakite, selenite and angelite... And other stones or the same families.  Make sure that your crystals can tolarate water before you soak them.

4- Some crystals can be soaked in water, but they might dissolve or scratch in salt water.

Some of these are: amber, turquoise, hematite, imperial topaze, red coral, pyrite, lapis lazuli, moonstone and calcite.

5- Selenite is one of the very few 'self-cleansing' stones.

Selenite is continuously purifying itself and its environment.  Putting a crystal on a selenite for a day is another efficient cleansing method, as well as waving a selenite wand around your crystal. You can also block negative energies from entering your home by putting a selenite at each corner of the house.  Also, take note that selenite works at its best when it is filled with light, whether you put it by the window, next to a lamp or to a lit candle.

6- Crystals can be used to rebalance and/or work directly on chakras.

Each chakra has a color it is associated with.  Healing work with crystals can be as simple as choosing a stone that is the color of the chakra you wish to rebalance.  Here is a list of the seven chakras, their colors, and examples of crystals they are associated to:


First Chakra: The Root Chakra.  It is located at the base of the spine, and is associated to survival, security, safety, grounding, basic needs, support and foundation for living our lives. 

Color: Red.  

Crystals:  ruby, cornelian, red jasper, tourmaline, garnet, shungite, obsidian, smoky quartz


Second Chakra: The Sacral Chakra Located three inches below the belly button, it is associated with the emotionnal body, sensuality, sexuality and creativity.

Color:  Orange

Crystals:  carnelian, orange calcite, amber, sunstone


Third Chakra: The Solar plexus Chakra.  Located in the abdomen, above the belly button up to the breastbone.  It is associated with will power, personnal power, mental abilities and bounderies.

Color:  Yellow

Crystals citrine, tiger's eye, yellow tourmaline, lemon quartz, yellow jasper


Fourth Chakra: The Heart Chakra.  Located at the center of the chest, it deals with compassion, love for one self and for others, relationships, relating, empathy, acceptance, forgiveness, transformation, change.

Color:  bright green, or pink

Crystals:  rose quartz, green serpentine, rhodochrosite, aventurite, malachite, amazonite, peridot, emerald


Fifth Chakra: The Throat Chakra.  Located at the center of the throat, it deals with expression, speaking one's truth, voicing one's opinion.

Color:  royal blue

Crystals:  lapis lazuli, turquoise, angelite, aquamarine, blue lace agate, blue kyanite, blue apatite, sodalite



Sixth Chakra: The Third Eye Chakra.  Located on the forehead, between the eyebrows.  It is the center of foresight and intuition.

Color:   Purple or Indigo

Crystals:  labradorite, moonstone, moldavite, amethyst, sodalite, lapis lazuli


Seventh Chakra: The Crown Chakra.  Located at the top of the head, it is associated with higher consciousness, wisdome, presence, realisation, liberation from limiting patterns, communion.

Color:  White or Deep purple

Crystals:  amethyst, clear quartx, selenite, lepidolite, diamond


7- All black crystals have protection properties.

Whether it is from negative energies, electromagnetic fields or radiations, all black crystals have protection properties, as well as grounding properties, as they are associated to the root chakra.


With all these tips in mind, remember that the most accurate tool for choosing your crystals will always remain your intuition!  Let it also guide you in developping creative ways to use them; perhaps on the bed table, to enhance sleep or to have vivid dreams...  Some in your bath water, for energising, or relaxing?  Some in the bottle you carry with you, to charge your drinking water with good energy?

And of course, the good old carry-it-in-your-pocket is always a simple and efficient way to have your crystals with you!


Looking forward to bring some of the magic of crystals in your life? Check out our crystal jewels here:


Liquid error (layout/theme line 177): Could not find asset snippets/newsletter-popup.liquid